High School Musical and Spiritual Sandwiches

The other day Lissi and I made supper for 30 kids and belted out High School Musical tunes. Do you know what that means?

It means I have officially moved to Madge Lake Bible Camp for the summer! For the month of June we have school groups that come every day. The rest of the summer I get to LIT direct and program direct for the first time, which I am in nervous anticipation.

CAMP IS SO GREAT! No where else can you get away with wearing shleppy clothes, eating ice cream every day, and showering the minimum.

Here’s a couple things God has been teaching me…

When you are called by God, He also equips you.

So I had a good realization this week. When I first agreed to be June staff, the only reason I said yes is because my friend Becca would be there. And because that was my attitude, I wasn’t giving my all. I was getting a bit stressed out about some of the extra responsibility that I have this year.

But Ryan, my friend / camp director / youth pastor / boss reminded me that God has called me to be at camp this summer… and He will provide and supply me with what I need to survive and thrive this summer! Honestly, it has changed my whole attitude about being here.

It’s a good reminder- wherever you are right now, if God has brought you there, He will help you!

Get rid of Spiritual Sandwiches

The absolute worst part of June is we eat hot dogs every day for lunch. And one day I was sick and tired of it, so I went and helped myself to a sandwich from the kitchen.

No big deal, right?

Well it is!

High School Musical is just my fave movie ever… I love the music, the actors, and making fun of how cheesy each unrealistic, hormone-filled moment is.

hsm

As great as HSM is, there is a even greater lesson to learn that actually relates to my sammich story…  you hear it in songs like “Together Forever”, “Work This Out”, “All for One”, and “We’re All in This Together”.

NOT LIVING FOR YOURSELF.

(I am fully aware of how strange I am for getting spiritual inspiration from High School Musical.)

Our culture hard-core promotes living for yourself. Do what’s right for you. Do what it takes to make yourself happy. Love yourself. Follow your heart. I’ve said it before… almost everything we do is based on our own level of happiness!

God has called us to something pretty life changing… laying down our lives for Jesus! Giving your all. Sacrificial love.

My honest motivation for the sandwich wasn’t anything super bad… I was hungry, and not for hot dogs. But by helping myself to sandwich and making my life a bit better, what was that doing for the other staff at camp? It was self serving, plain and simple.

As Christians, we are called to be part of the Body, meaning the church. 1 Corinthians 12:25-26 speaks of how important that unity is! “So that there may be no division in the body, but that the members may have the same care for one another. And if one member suffers, all the members suffer with it; if one member is honoured, all the members rejoice with it.” When we operate outside of unity, it is sin.

What if we had that kind of mindset when we went to church? What if we didn’t go to a service for what we could get out of it? What if we went to church to love God and love people, no matter how flawed those people are? What if we submitted to the authority of God’s Word? What if we would choose not to care how many hymns were sung and just praise God? When we do these things, it’s like me and my sandwich.

You may not think eating that sandwich was a big deal, like I did at first. The sandwich represents me loving myself, not submitting to authority, and not willing to sacrifice for God.

Hopefully that makes sense? I encourage you to examine yourself and get rid of the spiritual sandwiches in your life (don’t eat them!).

Leave a Reply

