Introducing… Mwa!

Welcome to the Adventures in Kendra Land! Whether you know me or stumbled upon this blog by accident, I really am surprised that you’re reading this. And happy. 🙂 I’ve decided to start a blog, so here goes… Introducing me…

My name is Kendra Thiessen. I am nineteen years old and I live in Manitoba, Canada.

I’ve had just over a million nicknames in my life… the earliest one being Pookie and the latest ones Ken, Keenwa, and Keenders.

Currently I work at a church as a youth intern and at a restaurant as a server/assistant cook.

Some of the things that make me come alive is musical perfection, making edible incredible food, art, gorgeous clouds, camp, and travelling.

I love people, bright colors, laughing with no restraint, words, slushies, surprises, rap, brown eyes, manitoba skies, and tea.

I’m looking forward to going to Edmonton for a youth conference, camp in the summer, backpacking Europe in the fall, and big question marks in the future.

My life isn’t perfect, and I am DEFINITELY not perfect. One of the hardest times of my life was moving from Ontario to Manitoba when I was sixteen. I’ve been without friends a bunch in my life, and grades 11-12 was probably the worst for that. There have been deaths that have greatly impacted me and right now in my family there are some people struggling with health, which is always weighing in the back of my mind.

Throughout my life I’ve dealt with a lot of fear, feeling alone, and trying to do things alone. I’m bad at being vulnerable, math, problem solving, and tidiness. I sometimes respond to people in a negative way or get frustrated easily.

I might not seem “rebellions” or “evil” on the outside, but believe me when I say I’m super sin-filled on the inside.

I am a follower of Jesus. I grew up in a Christian home, but that’s not WHY I’m a christian. I became a Jesus follower because I read the Bible for myself, asked a gazillion questions, doubted a whole ton, but came to the conclusion through my own experiences that God is real and Jesus is the way to God. And I love Him!

What you can expect from the Adventures in Kendra Land is random thoughts and reflections, stories of my adventures, and possibly a poem or two.

I make no apologies for my thoughts and beliefs, but at the same time if you want to challenge me or ask questions, I want to be open minded… just not so open minded that my brain falls out. 🙂

Well, that’s it. That’s all. That’s me!

One comment

  1. Brenda · April 21, 2015

    That was Awesome. Sounds like my Kendra and I love her to pieces. Thanks for sharing and I am looking forward to reading much more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

